21 May 2012

[Youth] Benjamí C claim the Liga title (3-2)

The team managed by Cristian Catena and Albert Puig claimed the Group 12 Segunda División League title after beating L'Hospitalet at home.

The Azulgranas are League champions with two matches left on the schedule.

The end of the season is coming to a close for Barça’s youth teams, and, in the final stretch, the effort put in by the youngsters is yielding its rewards. This weekend the Benjamín C team’s turn in the limelight. The side managed by Cristian Catena and Albert Puig claimed the Liga title of the Segunda División Benjamín after beating Centre d’Esports L’Hospitalet, the second-place team in the standings. by 3-2.

The match was marked by inclement weather that, at certain points during the match, forced the referee to halt the game. Despite the weather, the first half was dominated by Barça. The Azulgranas quickly took the lead thanks to two goals from Xavi Dimons and Arnau Martínez. Barça didn’t want to wait another week to claim the title, and they gave it their all against their direct competitors for the Liga thrown.

However, the visiting side were also in the hunt for the title and they didn’t relinquish their bid easily. Hospitalet managed to level the game at two goals apiece before the half. The halftime result, however, favoured Barça, a draw was enough to mathematically clinch the title.

Even though Barça attempted to win the three points, the scoreline didn’t move until the last part of the match. Pleguezuelo stepped up to give his team the lead with four minutes remaining on the referee’s clock. There wasn’t time for the visiting side to react. Barça’s Benjamín C team had won the title with two game still remaining on the schedule. The victory was followed by the Barça players storming the Ciutat Esportiva Joan Gamper’s number 8 pitch in celebration.

With a record of 25 wins and only 3 defeats all season, the title confirms the team’s splendid season. Furthermore, it’s further proof of Barça’s benjamín teams, who have won all the league titles in their respective divisions. (via FCBarcelona.com)