06 February 2012

Barça, Laureus World Team of the Year

FC Barcelona beat out the Dallas Mavericks, the Red Bull Formula 1 team, the All Blacks, the English’ national cricket side and the Japanese women’s national football side to win the Laureus World Team of the Year award. This award, which gives FC Barcelona worldwide recognition, will be added to the Club’s athletic and social achievements.

The Laureus World Team of the Year goes to ... FC Barcelona. The team lead by Josep Guardiola was named the Laureus World Team of the Year on Monday night for in London after the Catalan Club's near impeccable 2011 run where they claimed the League, Champions League, Spanish and European Super Cups and Club World Cup.

The Laureus World Sports Academy picked Barça ahead of the NBA champions, the Dallas Mavericks; the Formula 1 team Red Bull; the New Zealand’s All Blacks, world champions; the English national cricket side, reining The Ashes champions; and the Japanese Women’s football team, also world champions.

President Sandro Rosell and Vice-President Carles Viarrubí attended the gala, which was held at the Westminster Central Hall in London. The Laureus awards are considered to be the ‘Oscars of sports.’

This wasn’t the only prize that Barça was vying for tonight. Messi was one of the six nominees for the World Sportsman of the Year and Éric Abidal is in the running for the Laureus World Comeback of the Year. (via FCBarcelona.cat)

List of champions:
2011 Spain's national football side
2010 Brawn GP (Formula 1)
2009 Chinese Olympic team
2008 South Africa's national rugby team
2007 Italy's national football team
2006 Renault (Formula 1)
2005 Greek's national football side
2004 England's national rugby side
2003 Brazil's national football side
2002 Australia's national cricket side
2001 France's national football side